S2E7 — My Number One Tip about Faith

David Anderson
4 min readNov 16, 2020

The following is a transcript of a video I made for YouTube.

Video link: https://youtu.be/PMkxwdSnMbo

Opening: Welcome to another episode of “Almost Ordained.” I am your host, David, the guy who graduated seminary but never got ordained.

I’m taking a break from the Covid-19 series because, well, I need a break. I bet you do too. We all could use a break from Covid-19, right?

I’m turning my attention now to some of the most fundamental questions about the meaning of faith. I’ve written a book called Dark Nights of the Soul about my experiences living with clinical depression in the context of faith, and I came up with four principles that guide my recovery from depression. One of the principles is “Some types of faith are good for recovery, and some are bad. Make sure you know the difference.”

How did I learn the difference? The hard way, from the oldest teacher in the world: Experience. That’s a tough way to learn. There are so many ways my faith has changed over the years. So many things that sounded right when I started, I’ve had to let go. I don’t think I can teach you every lesson I’ve learned in the next few minutes. But if I could tell you only one thing, my number one tip about faith, it’s this. In the Bible, the Greek and Hebrew words translated “faith” can be understood in different ways. The two most important distinctions, I believe, are faith as belief and faith as trust.

--

--

David Anderson

David Anderson is a blogger, award-winning author, bible geek, and novice crypto investor. Doubting Thomas is my patron saint.